12.01.2009 Williams Mullen Professionals Selected for Virginia Governor-Elect McDonnell’s Transition Teams RICHMOND, VA. – Virginia Governor-elect Robert F. McDonnell has asked several Williams Mullen attorneys and professionals, all of whom have extensive backgrounds in government and public service, to help lead the transition to his new administration.

Former Attorney General Jerry W. Kilgore will chair the Public Safety transition team.  Mr. Kilgore has also been selected to co-chair McDonnell’s inauguration celebration.  Mr. Kilgore previously has served as Secretary of Public Safety under Governor George Allen and was vice chairman of the Commission on Juvenile Justice Reform.

The Hon. Terrie L. Suit, a former 9-year member of the Virginia House of Delegates, will chair the Commonwealth Preparedness, Military Relations and Veterans Affairs transition teams. During her tenure as delegate, Ms. Suit chaired both the General Laws Committee and the Virginia Housing Commission. She also served on the Commerce and Labor, Counties Cities and Towns, Education and Agriculture Committees.

Stephen E. Baril, a member of McDonnell’s campaign's finance committee, will now serve on the Economic Development transition team. Mr. Baril was a candidate for the Republican nomination for Attorney General and a gubernatorial appointee to Virginia’s Criminal Justice Services Board. 

Charles E. James, Jr., a former federal prosecutor in the U.S. Attorney's Office for the Eastern District of Virginia's Richmond and Alexandria Divisions and the Department of Justice's Criminal Division, Washington, D.C., will serve on the Public Safety transition team.

Christopher R. Nolen, who previously served as chief counsel to the attorney general and as special counsel & chief of opinions section in the Virginia Office of the Attorney General, will serve on the Administration transition team. 

Robert F. McDonnell will be sworn in as the 71st Governor of the Commonwealth of Virginia on Jan. 16, 2010 in Richmond at the State Capitol.