Skip to main content
04.02.2015 Firm News

Williams Mullen Announces Additional Leadership Changes

Richmond, VA (April 1, 2015) -- Williams Mullen is pleased to announce additional changes to the firm’s practice group and regional leadership as chosen by recently-appointed President and CEO, Calvin W. “Woody” Fowler, Jr., who assumed the role on April 1.

“As our industry and clients’ needs evolve and change, we are constantly re-examining our approach to make sure that we’re adapting as well,” said Mr. Fowler. “I am confident that our new generation of leaders at Williams Mullen will help us continue to stay at the forefront of trends in both our clients’ industries and the business of law.”

Craig L. Rascoe, will continues in his role as Chief Operating Officer, while maintaining his tax practice helping businesses and individuals with their tax planning needs. Mr. Rascoe concentrates on entity structuring, mergers and acquisitions, business restructurings and business succession planning.

David C. Burton, Chair of Williams Mullen’s Labor and Employment section, will also take on the position of Practice Group Chair. In conjunction with the firm’s Section Heads, Mr. Burton will be responsible for the overall performance of the Sections across the firm.

Farhad Aghdami, a Partner in the firm’s Tax practice, will serve as the Managing Partner for Richmond. Mr. Aghdami is a member of the firm’s Board of Directors and a trusted advisor to his clients, whom he counsels on business succession planning, mergers and acquisitions, entity formation and structuring, and wealth transfer planning and preservation.

Adam Casagrande, a Partner in the firm’s Litigation practice, will serve as the Managing Partner for Hampton Roads. Mr. Casagrande is an integral part of the firm and the community, serving as a member of the firm’s Board of Directors. He represents companies of all sizes, from large manufacturers and government contractors to local businesses and entrepreneurs, in commercial litigation

David F. Paulson, Jr., Chair of the firm’s North Carolina Business & Corporate Law team will continue to serve as the Managing Partner for North Carolina, a position he assumed in August of 2014. Since then, the firm has added eight new attorneys and economic developers to its North Carolina offices in key industries, including life sciences, health care, technology and intellectual property.

In addition to the executive leadership changes above, four new Chairs of practice groups have been named. These individuals, along with existing Chairs of practice groups, report to Mr. Burton in his additional role as Practice Group Chair.

Wyatt S. Beazley, IV, has been named Chair of our Health Care practice group. Mr. Beazley helps health care providers with the many unique challenges faced in the highly regulated industry of health care in order to continue growing their business and to keep it running smoothly.

Gregory R. Bishop, a prominent Mergers and Acquisitions Partner, has been named Chair of the Business and Corporate section, overseeing one of the central practice groups at the firm. Mr. Bishop has a broad range of experience as a transactional attorney, advising companies at critical junctures in their life cycles, including mergers and acquisitions, formation, raising capital, and joint ventures.

Turner A. Broughton, one of the firm’s top litigators, has been named Chair of the firm’s robust Litigation practice. Mr. Broughton has handled all types of litigation, including consumer class actions, health care litigation, and complex and general business litigation, including serving as national counsel on vendor disputes for Fortune 500 companies.

J. Conrad Garcia will be leading the firm’s Tax Law practice, taking on the role of Chair. Mr. Garcia focuses his practice on domestic and international tax planning. He counsels clients on choice of entity issues; formation, acquisition, disposition and liquidation of business entities; corporate reorganizations; like-kind exchanges; foreign tax issues; and federal and state tax disputes.

The additional Chairs of practice groups will continue to serve in their roles including: The Honorable Ralph L. “Bill” Axselle, Jr., Chair of Government Relations; Thomas B. McVey, Chair of International; John M. Mercer, Chair of Financial Services and Real Estate; and Craig L. Mytelka, Chair of Intellectual Property.