Skip to main content
08.23.2021 Firm News

13 Williams Mullen Attorneys Named "Lawyers of the Year" by Best Lawyers®

Williams Mullen is pleased to announce that 13 attorneys have been named “Lawyers of the Year” in the 2022 edition of The Best Lawyers in America©. This award is given to individual attorneys with the highest overall peer-feedback for a specific practice area and geographic region. Only one attorney is recognized as the "Lawyer of the Year" for each practice area and location.

Attorneys who received the honor include:


  • George H. Bowles - Litigation - Banking and Finance
  • David C. Burton - Employment Law – Management
  • Craig L. Mytelka - Litigation – Patent
  • John M. Paris, Jr. - Tax Law


  • Wes J. Camden - Criminal Defense: White-Collar
  • Elizabeth Davenport Scott - Litigation - Trusts and Estates
  • Robert C. Van Arnam - Litigation - Patent


  • Gregory R. Bishop - Business Organizations (including LLCs and Partnerships)
  • Patrick R. Hanes - Litigation - Patent
  • Jennifer M. McLemore - Litigation - Bankruptcy
  • Marc E. Purintun - Employee Benefits (ERISA) Law
  • Scott H. Richter - Corporate Governance Law

Washington, D.C.

  • Arnie B. Mason - Litigation - Construction

In addition, 124 lawyers from Williams Mullen were selected by their peers for inclusion in The Best Lawyers in America©, with 20 being named “Ones to Watch.” To see the full list, click here.

For information about the Best Lawyers® rankings, including the selection process, click here.